Laredo College Libraries uses the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System to organize items in their collection.
Britain's number-one guide to mastering the art and science of bookkeeping Accurate bookkeeping is crucial to the success of every business--but few people relish in this highly detailed task. Luckily, this new edition of Bookkeeping For Dummies simplifies every aspect of financial record keeping, walking you through the basic skills you need to make numbers your minion. From tracking transactions and keeping ledgers to producing balance sheets and year-end reports, this straight-talking guide takes the intimidation out of bookkeeping and shows you how to make it your best friend in business. Fully updated to include the latest coverage of accounting practices and bookkeeping software, this new edition of Bookkeeping For Dummies features tons of practical exercises to get you up and running with what you need to keep your books balanced, your finances in order and the tax inspector off your back. Find updated bookkeeping templates and resources available via download Manage day-to-day records like sales and purchases Produce Profit and Loss Statements and Balance Sheets Prepare year-end documents with confidence and ease From the importance of keeping a paper trail to the best ways to keep payroll rolling--and everything in between--this is the ideal resource for anyone looking to learn the bookkeeping ropes.
Dos Idiomas, One Me is the story of a young girl who feels torn between two languages. At home, she speaks Spanish, at school, she speaks English, and she finds herself resenting the fact that she has to translate her thoughts and feelings. Then, she realizes that being bilingual is a gift. She begins to have fun navigating the space of inclusivity and starts to relish the role of teacher and translator. By equally incorporating Spanish and English, Dos Idiomas, One Me promotes biliteracy. As young readers see their experiences reflected in the story of another dual-language speaker, they can feel encouraged to embrace all aspects of themselves. "A charming book depicting bicultural identity. Maggy Williams takes the reader into the struggle and joy a child experiences while not feeling ni de aquí, ni de allá, and yet from both sides." - Anel Duarte, artist and poet "Such a unique, inspiring story that captures the heart within seconds of reading! A powerful, dynamic rendition of what it means to be a bilingual child. Every family should read it!" - Sabrina Suarez, artist, advocate, and community leader "Esta pequeña historia guarda un gran tesoro. Para todos los niños que tienen la gran oportunidad y capacidad de aprender dos o más idiomas a la vez, de una forma natural. Que puedan apreciar y sentir la fortuna de ser completamente bilingües desde una edad temprana. Una ventaja con la que contarán el resto de sus vidas y que podrá ser de gran ayuda para ellos mismos y muchos otros a su alrededor. Un lindo recurso para todos los padres que quieren enseñar a sus hijos la riqueza de formar parte en varias culturas a la vez." - Irma Erichsen, author and artist "Dos Idiomas, One Me illustriously guides young readers and their grownups towards understanding that differences make us unique and special. Beautifully written!" - AnnaMarie Jones, co-creator of the Demystifying Diversity Podcast. Learn more at www.MaggyWilliamsAuthor.com From Loving Healing Press wwwLHPress.com
The CliffsTestPrep series offers full-length practice exams that simulate the real tests; proven test-taking strategies to increase your chances at doing well; and thorough review exercises to help fill in any knowledge gaps. CliffsTestPrep GED can help you score well on the General Education Development exam, which will show that you have the knowledge and ability of a high school graduate. More than 600,000 adults worldwide take the GED Tests each year. One out of every seven high school diplomas issued each year in the United States is based on passing the GED Tests. Most U.S. employers consider GED graduates on a par with traditional high school graduates in regard to hiring, salary, and opportunity for advancement. Inside this test prep tool, you'll find Full-length practice tests with scoring and in-depth answer explanations Coverage of exam areas in terms of what to expect, what you should know, what to look for, and how you should approach each part Guidance on how to focus your review of specific subjects to make the most of your study time Introduction to the format and scoring of the exam, overall strategies for answering multiple-choice questions, and questions commonly asked about the GED This book will help you understand the types of questions that will test your knowledge of several basic areas, such as sentence structure (fragments, comma splices, dangling modifiers, and more). In addition, you'll prepare to show what you know about The rules for contractions, possessives, homonyms, capitalization, and parts of speech Essay writing with an assigned topic that will call for discussing a personal goal, give an opinion, state a point of view, or explain something World and U.S. history, civics and government, economics, and geography Biology, chemistry, physics, and earth and space science Literary works, such as fiction, poetry, and drama, in addition to short essays, speeches, critical reviews, and legal documents Basic concepts of arithmetic, algebra, and informal geometry and measurement With guidance from the CliffsTestPrep series, you'll feel at home in any standardized-test environment!
Named "Best GED books of all time" by BookAuthority GED Math Test Tutor delivers award-winning prep that is 100% aligned with today's GED Math test. Here's what's in it for you: Expert review of every concept covered on the test - REA's targeted subject review covers all the math topics you'll see on the exam, including fractions, decimals, percentages, algebra, polynomials, scientific notation, and more. Know your way around the TI-30XS MultiView calculator - A step-by-step tutorial on the official GED calculator gets you up and running in no time. Helpful hints you need to know - Hundreds of hints, shortcuts, and exercises reinforce key math points, including the secrets of rounding, calculating with fractions, how to tell the difference between domain and range, and much more! Diagnostic pretest and two full-length practice tests - A diagnostic pretest pinpoints your strengths and weaknesses. Two full-length practice tests feature every type of question and skill assessed on the real exam. Each practice test comes with detailed solutions to help you master the material. If you're concerned about your math score on the GED test, you need REA's GED Math Test Tutor! Certified by GED Testing Service to be 100% aligned and up-to-date for today's GED test Winner of the ProCert Excellence in Education Award for Best-in-Class GED Prep Get on your way with REA, a trusted GED Publisher Partner.
Idiot's Guides: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra helps readers get up to speed and relearn the primary concepts of mathematics, geometry, and pre-algebra. Content includes basic math operations (addition, subtraction, multiplication, division); word problems; factors and multiples; fractions, decimals, and percents; weights and measures; graphs; statistics and probability; and algebra and geometry basics. A practice problems section is also included to help reinforce the math concepts. This book is ideal for anyone needing a refresher in order to pass entrance exams, such as the GED®, ASVAB, and Praxis®.
Themes: Life Skills, Preparing a Resume, Job Skills, Independent Living, Flip Book, Fiction, Nonfiction, Teen, Young Adult, Emergent Reader, Hi-Lo, Hi-Lo Books, Hi-Lo Solutions, High-Low Books, Hi-Low Books, ELL, EL, ESL, Struggling Learner, Struggling Reader, Special Education, SPED, Newcomers, Reading, Learning, Education, Educational, Educational Books. Each 5-book set in the series covers a key aspect of independent living, such as managing money, finding and keeping a job, or completing common household tasks. Developed for students reading at the most basic level, the books range in readability from 1.0-1.9 and have Lexile scores of HL130L to HL230L. Each book is actually two books in one, with a nonfiction side and a fiction side. The nonfiction side teaches students about an important life skills topic, and the fiction side helps them generalize the skills as they read about teens in real-world situations. JOB SKILLS: Build students job skills with this five-book set. Important aspects of jobs and managing basic skills on your own are explored in these nonfiction/fiction flip books. Topics include: preparing a resume, finding a job, job interview basics, how to act on the job, and employee rights.
Themes: Life Skills, Job Interview Basics, Job Skills, Independent Living, Flip Book, Fiction, Nonfiction, Teen, Young Adult, Emergent Reader, Hi-Lo, Hi-Lo Books, Hi-Lo Solutions, High-Low Books, Hi-Low Books, ELL, EL, ESL, Struggling Learner, Struggling Reader, Special Education, SPED, Newcomers, Reading, Learning, Education, Educational, Educational Books. Each 5-book set in the series covers a key aspect of independent living, such as managing money, finding and keeping a job, or completing common household tasks. Developed for students reading at the most basic level, the books range in readability from 1.0-1.9 and have Lexile scores of HL130L to HL230L. Each book is actually two books in one, with a nonfiction side and a fiction side. The nonfiction side teaches students about an important life skills topic, and the fiction side helps them generalize the skills as they read about teens in real-world situations. JOB SKILLS: Build students job skills with this five-book set. Important aspects of jobs and managing basic skills on your own are explored in these nonfiction/fiction flip books. Topics include: preparing a resume, finding a job, job interview basics, how to act on the job, and employee rights.
Learn to code the fun way with nine real projects for true beginners Adventures in Coding is written specifically for young people who want to learn how to code, but don't know where to begin. No experience? No problem! This book starts from the very beginning to take you from newbie to app-builder in no time. You'll 'learn by doing' as you build projects designed to help you master fundamental programming skills--and you'll have a great time doing it. These skills form the foundation of any programmer's tool set, and you'll continue to use them as you graduate to other devices and more difficult projects. Each chapter includes a video to help clear up any confusion and make sure you really understand, so you can keep programming your way through every single project without hitting major roadblocks. If you're ready to start designing your own program, this book will help you get started today. More and more kids are learning to code, and many schools offer basic programming classes as part of the regular curriculum. This book is structured like a class, starting with the basics and building skill upon skill, making it both a perfect accompaniment to formal instruction and an ideal guide for self-study. Learn the basic programming skills you'll use everywhere Build nine fun projects from super-basic to pretty challenging Build the skills you need to create bigger and better apps Watch video tutorials for extra help and explanations How many times have you played with an app only to find yourself wishing it had this or that feature? If you learn how to code, you can be the creator of the next big app! But it all starts with that first small project. Adventures in Coding provides all the information you need, so let's get coding!
Smartphones and basic digital cameras have made photography more accessible than ever before, and the creative possibilities are endless! This engaging title takes readers through photography basics and photo editing techniques, giving them the skills to creatively picture their world. Exciting photography ideas and tips encourage readers to refine their skills and create personal photo projects.
Use the suggestion box to request topics for featured articles, provide suggestions to the LibGuide, or report any issues such as broken or not working links.
Laredo College Libraries offers an Interlibrary Loan program to all students, faculty, and staff to borrow books, journal articles, and other library materials from partner lending libraries if this library does not own a copy of the requested item.
Fill out the form below to request your ILL item.
Books, journals, DVDs, and CDs are available for use at the library. These materials, except for journals, may be checked out by students.